SA and NT honour clubs and individuals

Saturday 05 February, 2022
Janelle Orrock (pictured left) was one of many individuals to be honoured during the SA/NT Motorsport State Awards on Saturday night.
The 2021 Motorsport Australia State Awards season is officially underway after the completion of the combined South Australia and Northern Territory virtual presentation, presented by Shannons Insurance.
Hosted by Cameron van den Dungen, the presentation, which was broadcast via Motorsport Australia’s social media channels, saw selected individuals from both states awarded for their efforts after what was another challenging year in motorsport.
Watch a replay of the South Australian and Northern Territory State Awards, presented by Shannons Insurance here.
From winners of all state championships and series to the recognition of volunteer officials and administrators, the presentation honoured those who went above and beyond.
Covered throughout the presentation were all title winners, including SA rally champions Jamie Polhner and Adam Branford, Off Road champions Hayden and Sam Bentley and Circuit Excel Champion, Asher Johnston.

All four speed and auto test state champions were also recognised including David Mahon (hill climb) Michael Clements (Khanacross) Tony Wallis (motorkhana) and hill climb champion David Mahon and Aaron Bowering (Autocross).
While drivers and crews were honoured for their state titles, multiple individuals received awards for their services to the sport as volunteer official.
Taking out the 2021 State Official of the Year award South Australian Motor Racing Officials Association (SAMROA) stalwart, Janelle Orrock.
Having been involved with the sport for more than 20 years and with SAMROA since 2012, Orrock has held roles such as Vice President, President Assistant secretary and treasurer, as well as serving multiple committees.
In addition to her work with SAMROA, she has made an invaluable contribution to motorsport including helping re-write the Administration module for Motorsport Australia’s training program and holding various roles across Medical, Administration and timing.

Not only did Orrock receive Official of the Year for her contributions to the sport, but she also received a Service Star for her efforts both in 2021 and the previous two decades.
“I am extremely proud and humbled to have received these awards,“ Orrock said.
“I would like to thank Jack Holding for supporting on my motorsport endeavours and my daughter Emily who often comes along with us
“This award however is more about the people that work with me and support me in doing what I love to do.”
The other Service Star recipients were Karl Fleming, another SAMROA official, and Walkerville All Cars Club life member James Penhale.
Like Orrock, Fleming didn’t just get honoured once during presentation with the 18-year official also one of eight individuals to receive a Service Award.
The other seven to receive the accolade included Shane ‘Mully’ Bunker, Mary Carli, Alistair Walker, Trevor and Ros Fisher (pictured below), the late Mik Langsford, David Stimson and Dieter Von-Zieden.


The SA/NT awards also recognised certain officials within the three major disciplines with Michelle Edwards named as Speed Official of the Year, Bob Temby as Off Road Official of the Year and Owen Smith as Circuit Official of the Year.
People weren’t the only ones to be acknowledged during the presentation with clubs also taking centre stage.
From first year clubs to those celebrating 50-year anniversaries such as the Adelaide Superkart Club and Women For Wheels of SA, there were multiple clubs to be honoured.
However when it came to one of the most sought after awards in grassroots motorsport, it was the Sporting Car Club of SA’s All Historic, which claimed State Event of the Year.
The next virtual state awards will be for Tasmania, which will be streamed on Wednesday 9 February.
Click here to watch the virtual SA/NT Awards ceremony.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App