NSW/ACT honour state champions

Thursday 24 February, 2022
The 2021 NSW/ACT Motorsport Australia State Awards saw multiple champions recognised throughout the evening.
The final instalment of the Motorsport Australia State Virtual Awards, presented by Shannons Insurance, has been completed with New South Wales and the ACT celebrating the best of their state from 2021.
The virtual presentation was hosted by Cameron van den Dungen and was broadcast via Motorsport Australia’s website, as selected individuals were acknowledged for their efforts after what was a busy year for the state.
Watch a replay of the NSW/ACT State Awards, presented by Shannons Insurance here.
Motorsport Australia President Andrew Fraser and its State Council Chair Jon Thomson opened the night, before a who’s who of NSW/ACT motorsport were recognised for their stellar efforts.
The first set of awards announced were all the champions of the 2021 season, with some of the most notable names being the combined NSW hill climb champions of Dean Tighe and Dean Amos and NSW rallycross champion Troy Haworth.
There were plenty of individuals honoured for their efforts on the race track with eight NSW/ACT Supersprint champions and 11 Motorsport Australia State Motor Race Champions acknowledged – Bradley Shiels impressing as he won both the Sports Sedan Championship and Class one of the Supersports Championship.
Following on from the title winners, a further 10 officials and volunteers were recognised for their hard work and dedication over many years.
Of the 10 individuals to receive awards, seven were recipients of Service Awards. Those seven were Dennis Willis, Richard Setchfield, Gregory Muddle. William Jones, Elaine Nikiforoff, Nicole Crowley and Robert Learmonth.
Taking out the prestigious Kevin Bartlett award, which celebrates the most outstanding circuit driver of the year was RX8 CUP driver Tom Shaw, while Monaro Stages Rally Event Secretary Debbie Quirk was named as the Coral Taylor Award winner – the award going to an NSW/ACT based woman for their outstanding achievement in motorsport.
The final individual award to be given at the presentation was the State Official of the Year, which was awarded to Kate Eppelstun.

Eppelstun’s main work has seen her take on the role of Chief Flag Marshal at Wakefield Park Raceway for more than ten years, Sector Marshal at Supercars events across NSW, VIC and QLD and more recently a mentor for young officials coming through the system.
Eppelstun thanked multiple people for the award.
“I would like to thank Wakefield Park Raceway for nominating me for this award, I am truly humbled & appreciative,” Eppelstun wrote.
“Thank you also to my amazing husband and family, my main mentors Jessica Nicholson, Nick Goring and Dean Chapman, my wonderful team of officials at Wakefield and Motorsport Australia for recognising my contribution to Motorsport and awarding me with the Official of the year for NSW/ACT, it's an award I will treasure indefinitely.
“The welfare of my officials is my passion. To keep a good strong officials base you need to treat them with kindness and respect, this is something I am very proud of at Wakefield, we have an absolutely amazing family of officials and we are growing in member numbers all the time which makes my job easier.”
Outside of all individual award winners and 2021 state champions, the virtual presentation also acknowledged both new and milestone-celebrating clubs.
There were two new arrivals including the Tesla Owners Club of Australia while the three celebrated anniversaries, including the Morris Minor Picnic Club, who enjoyed its 25th year last year as a Motorsport Australia affiliated car club.
Click here for information and replays of all State Awards, presented by Shannons Insurance.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App