State Awards wrap up with SA/NT

Friday 03 March, 2023
James Piszyck (pictured left at the Ferrari Driver Academy) was awarded with the SA/NT Future Star Award.
The Motorsport Australia State Awards, presented by Shannons Insurance, has concluded for another year with South Australia and the Northern Territory holding their virtual ceremony.
Like the rest of the states, the combined South Australian and Northern Territory Awards was held online, with Cameron van den Dungen hosting the presentation.
The virtual ceremony began by acknowledging the new clubs affiliating with Motorsport Australia and those clubs reaching significant milestones before celebrating the many champions of 2022.
Click here to watch the SA/NT Awards replay.
Amongst those individuals honoured for their 2022 seasons were the 32 hill climb class winners led by outright state champion David Mahon, Off Road champions Simon Tucker and Kyle Tucker, Rally Champions Jamie Pohlner and Adam Branford, Circuit Excel champion Asher Johnston and HQ Holden champion Lee Smith.
Young rising star James Piszyck was also highlighted during the presentation as the 2022 SA/NT Future Star, after finishing second in the Australian Formula Ford Championship and making it to the finals of the Ferrari Driver Academy Oceania/Asia Pacific Selection Program.
The teenager was one of 15 individuals to be acknowledged throughout the ceremony with the remaining awards going to volunteer officials.
In a unique take on the awards, officials from every discipline get recognised in SA/NT, starting with the Auto Test Official of the Year, which went to motorkhana Clerk of Course, Adam Cullen.
SA Rally Panellist Darran Ambrose was named as the Rally Official of the Year, the highly dedicated Robert Shegog received the Off Road Official of the Year and James Whelan picked up the Speed Official of the Year gong.

Screen Shot 2023-03-03 at 5.18.19 pm
Whelan also ended the ceremony as the 2022 State Official of the Year – marking an incredible short career in the sport.
Despite having only been an official working at Collingrove for the past couple of years, Whelan has worked in a variety of roles and recently upgraded his officials licence to Event Command.
He has also held roles as a Steward, Starter, Clerk of Course, Flag 2, Flag 1 and Recovery.
The circuit racing community also recognised officials from each region with dedicated flaggie for the North Australian Motorsports Club, Jan Cartwright taking out the NT Circuit Official of the Year and motorsport enthusiast Kathryn Page named as the SA Circuit Official of the Year.
The NT also recognised popular Clerk of Course, Darren Boots, for his outstanding achievements and work ethic at motorsport events by awarding him the NT Motorsport Person of the Year.
Other recipients in the presentation were Barry Kitts, Philip Rowley, Steve Kaczmarek and Corrina Thompson – all of whom were given Service Awards, while Gail Kroonstuiver was named as the Service Star.
Roger Brown was also honoured during the presentation for his Motorsport Australia Life Membership.
Click here to view State Awards presentations.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App