Queensland honours 2022 winners

Friday 24 February, 2023
Jack Doohan was named as the 2022 Will Power Trophy winner.
Queensland is the latest state to celebrate the champions of last year, as part of the 2022 Motorsport Australia State Awards season, presented by Shannons Insurance.
The online virtual presentation, hosted by Cameron van den Dungen, recognised all the winners from the state’s championships and series and covered a range of disciplines.
From Queensland Off Road Champion, Tait Svenson to the Improved Production Car Champion in David Waldon, all champions were celebrated for their remarkable seasons.
The late Ronnie Bustard, who sadly unexpectedly passed away earlier this year, was also acknowledged for his Queensland Rally Championship title, for which he won alongside Larisa Biggar.
In addition to last year’s champions, the event also shone the spotlight on a number of individuals for their contributions to the sport both on and off the track.
One of the most notable honours for the evening went to FIA Formula 2 Championship driver, Jack Doohan.
The teenager, who is currently the Alpine F1 Reserve Driver, was named as the 2022 Will Power Trophy winner – an award recognising outstanding achievements by a young Queenslander.
Gearing up for his second year in the second tier of Formula 1 Racing, Doohan was thrilled to receive the prestigious award.
“Very honoured to be awarded the Will Power Trophy,” Doohan said in his video speech.
“I am a very proud Queenslander and to get an award like this makes me very happy. Hopefully I can win it again in future years.”
Doohan wasn’t the only individual to be honoured during the awards, with four loyal volunteers receiving recognition for their efforts in not just 2022, but for an extended period of time.

Screen Shot 2023-02-24 at 4.56.56 pm
Annette Truscott.  

Taking out the two Service Awards were experienced stalwarts of the MG Car Club of Queensland, Richard Mattea and Annette Truscott – both of whom were involved with the club’s Queensland Circuit Racing State Championship round, which won State Event of the Year.
For Mattea, he joined the club in 1998 and was elected to the management committee in 2001 and promoted to Vice President in 2004 before being appointed as the President - a position he held for a long time.
He also organised many events for the club and introduced the game-changing computer timing system at the Mount Cotton hill climb. 
Truscott has been just as important to the club having held the Secretary role for many of the club's series and championships since 2010.
Named as the sole Service Star was North Queensland Off Road Racing Association treasurer, Don Young.
Young has been heavily involved in organising and running off road events in Queensland for many years, and is spearheading his club’s national debut running, the Markwell Group Gold City 450.
He also sits on the Australian Off Road Commission and has been Chair of the Queensland Off Road Advisory Panel for many years,.
The final official to be recognised was State Official of the Year, Judith Evans.
Starting as a volunteer official more than 20 years ago, Evans has risen upwards to reach Silver Event Command status due to her self-discipline and dedication in a variety of roles within motorsport.
Starting out as a trackside flag marshal, she is now being selected to act as Deputy and Assistant Clerk of Course at Supercars events and is highly respected by her fellow officials, marshals and competitors.
In addition to the stellar efforts of individuals, the ceremony also celebrated clubs and their achievements.
Those reaching milestones were also celebrated, such as the Northern Districts Sporting Car Club recording 50 years of affiliation. 

Meanwhile, the Outstanding Club of the Year was awarded to the Holden Sporting Car Club of Queensland.
Click here to watch a replay of the Queensland awards.
The next awards ceremony is the Western Australia State Awards on Sunday 26 February.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App