State Excels lead entertaining display at The Bend

Tuesday 21 September, 2021
Photos: Bob Taylor
The Sporting Car Club of SA has held the fourth round of the Motorsport Australia SA Motor Racing Championship at The Bend Motorsport Park.
More than 120 competitors across five fields enjoyed five races throughout the round, with a number of categories sharing the track.
The headline act for the race meeting was the Hyundai Excels series, which had plenty of drama take place across the five races as three different winners enjoyed the top step.
Taking out the first win was champion of the category in Asher Johnson before he was disqualified in race two – the victory ultimately awarded to Andrew Hobby.

Jayden Wanzek’s victory in the third race made it three winners from three races as Hobby finished second and Johnson fourth before the latter secured his second win in the penultimate race of the round.
In the final race, Wanzek got his second win of the weekend and sealed the round honours as a result having been the only driver to feature on the podium in every race.
Adding to the spectacle of the category’s action over the weekend was the inclusion of Repco Supercars Championship star Tim Slade, who was racing for Misch's Excel Garage.
The 36-year-old had a good outing behind the wheel with four podiums – his best result coming in the final race where he finished in second place behind Wanzek.

The Excels weren’t the only category to have some entertaining clashes, with Samuel Woodland and Alex Limmer going toe-to-toe in the joint Formula Ford, Formula Vee and Historic Racing grid.
Both drivers were running Formula Fords and exchanged outright wins in the opening four races before Woodland dominated the final race to cross the finish line seven seconds ahead of Limmer.
James Doig was the best performer in the Historic Racing cars as he picked up four wins across the five races.
In what was a special inclusion in the category, six Formula Vee drivers attended the event having travelled from Western Australia to make it 11 drivers in the class.

In the combined Saloon Cars, HQ Holdens and Historic Touring cars which saw Shawn Jamieson claim a perfect race record of four race wins in the outright standings.
With the leading Holden Commodore VY driver not taking part in the final race, Wayne Williams, who finished second in three of those four races, won the final outing.
It was a close battle in the HQ Holdens class as three wins to Lee Smith on Sunday was enough to take out the class win over Saturday’s double winner in Darren Jenkins.
The remaining three fields saw one driver dominate the weekend,
In the joint Sports Cars and Sports Sedans, Mark Rosser steered his Audi R8 LMS GT3 to five wins, as did Scott Cook and his Nissan Silvia S13 in the Improved Production cars, while John Magro who won all five of the Formula 3, Formula Libre and Sports Cars races.

Only one round remains in the year with the rescheduled third round at Mallala Raceway in conjunction with Porsche Club of SA on 9-10 October.
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App