Mahon secures third SA hill climb title

Tuesday 14 September, 2021
David Mahon has won his third consecutive SA hill climb state title. (Photo: Bob Taylor)
David Mahon’s brilliant 2021 season has continued with the 70-year-old winning the Motorsport Australia South Australian Hill Climb Championship. 
Taking place at the Collingrove Hill Climb, more than 100 competitors contested the Sporting Car Club of SA run event despite the hugely contrasting weather conditions on both days.  
On Saturday, Mahon ran just five times, with his second attempt of 28.77 seconds enough to secure the victory. Although he ran a further four times for the day, he was unable to break the 29-second barrier. 
His closest rivals came in the form of Derek and Allan Foster, but neither of the Formulaz Libre drivers were unable to go under 29 seconds with Derek’s fifth run time of 29.63 and Allan’s final time 30.38 securing them podiums. 
Rounding out the top five were Robert Ellis and Henry Beasley with the former's final time of 31.92 earning him a well-deserved fourth place finish by half a second over Beasley, who comfortably secured fifth place with a 32.43 and was the highest ranked non open wheeler.
Saturday's perfect weather was nowhere to be seen on Sunday, with the heavens opening up as rain and hail wreaked havoc on the competition. Only Beasley in his Mitsubishi EVO 4 would go on to take any part in the event’s proceedings, but fell significantly short of his times on Saturday. 
When it came to the top 10 shootout, the highest ranked driver to feature was Nissan Skyline GTR driver Nathan Green in seventh after beating Craig van Diemen by just one hundredth and Paul Healey by one tenth in official proceedings. 
Click here to view official results. 
In the shootout itself, Healy ended up getting revenge on both Green and van Diemen as he finished higher on the standings. 
With the shootout results dividing the drivers’ outright and the shootout times, and both Healy and Greene breaking their respective class records – it was always going to be difficult for either one of the trio to win the shootout. 

That honour ended up going to William Wauchope and his Toyota Yaris, while Healy ended up fourth behind David Coombe and Alex Wilson. 
But at the end of the weekend, it was Mahon who took out the title after his super Saturday and the Dallara Hayabusa F394 deliver was thrilled to claim his third consecutive title – especially with the national championship closing in. 
"It was good, but we were lucky that we were able to have a dry Saturday as I didn’t even run on Sunday,” Mahon said. 
“It’s really nice to get another state championship under my belt, I have to be happy with three-in-a-row. I am not getting any younger so I have to grab them while I can. 
“The Foster boys gave it their best and had done a bit of work to car to find a bit more horsepower, so I was a bit worried at the start, but after a few runs, it didn’t look like it was going to get that close to my time. 

“I put my good form down to retiring three years ago because when I was working full-time, I didn’t have the time to improve the car. Add the fact that I was also able to get a car that Malcolm Oastler built – I would say it’s all come together nicely. 
“I am really looking forward to the Australian hill climb championship in Queensland later this year if it goes ahead, I don’t think I’ll challenge for a win, but I think a podium could be possible.” 
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race