Purdie a strong chance

Thursday 10 December, 2020
Photo: Bob Taylor
The OTR South Australian Sports Cars Invitational Series will return to The Bend Motorsport Park for the third and final time this weekend as Blake Purdie looks to claim the inaugural title.

With 14 competitors confirmed to take part in the season finale and not all drivers competing in each of the two rounds preceded, the 16-year-old only needs to keep his nose clean in order to take out the title.

Only one driver is a chance to steal the series from Purdie and that driver is one who knows how to win races - Mark Laucke. The 2017 Australian Prototype Series winner has had a highly consistent season thus far and will be ready to pounce on the teenager should he make a mistake. 

Jam Motorsport will once again be leading the charge with a number of competitors outside of Purdie and Laucke running under its banner, including John-Paul Drake, Chien-Wen Liew, Brian Smith and Sam Shahin, who will be teaming up with Peter Gazzard, while Laucke will welcome Greg Keene to share his vehicle on the weekend. 

With South Australia recently reopening its borders to interstate travellers, this has provided the opportunity for Queenslander Glen Stallbaum and Zig Fuhrmeister from Victoria to get to the meeting – the latter competing in one of his first events since earlier the start of the year. 

Other notable entries include Tim Cook, Yasser Shahin, Sebastian Lip and Michael Whiting who will each drive Radical machines, as well as Ian Eldridge and Philip Andrawos. 

With competitors to get some practice sessions, qualifying and two-one hour races throughout the day, it will provide them with the opportunity to finish the year on a high as they prepare for the 2021 season.

The final round of the 2020 OTR South Australian Sports Car Invitational Series takes place this weekend at The Bend Motorsport Park on 12 December

Other events around Australia

Whiteline Tarmac Rallysprint Series 2020/2021
North Shore Sporting Car Club Ltd
Sydney International Dragway, Eastern Creek NSW
10 December

BJR Tasmanian Hillclimb Championship 2020
North West Car Club
Oonah Road, Highclere, TAS
12 December

Come and Try/Sprint Day
Victorian Motorsport and Cruise Club
Barnawartha, VIC
12 December

CQMSC Christmas Motorkhana
Central Qld Motor Sporting Club Inc
Gracemere Sales Yard, Gracemere QLD
12 December

Skidpan Motorkhana (Incorp Come & Try)
Christian Autosports Club Of Australia Inc
Sydney Motorsport Park, Eastern Creek NSW
12 December

TEDA Drifkhana/Drift Practice
Top End Drift Association
Hidden Valley Raceway, Hidden Valley NT
12 December

The Bend Motorsport Park Pty Ltd
The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend SA
12 December

DSCC Autocross & Khanacross Round 12
Deniliquin Sporting Car Club Inc
Deniliquin Motorsport Complex, Deniliquin NSW
12 December

Willunga HillClimb
Ultimate Motorsport Events
Willinga, SA
13 December

Driver Dynamics High Performance Track Days
Motorsports Training Australia, Wodonga VIC
13 December

Lucky 13 = Sunday Sliding
Driving Sports Incorporated
Sydney Motorsport Park - Skid Pan, Eastern Creek NSW
13 December

Christmas Party and Fun Day
Douglas Shire Motor Sport Association Inc
Reef and Rainforest Track, North Mossman QLD
13 December

GCC Club Khanacross
Gippsland Car Club Inc
Bryant Park, Yallourn VIC
13 December

New England Sporting Car Club Incorporated
Traffic Education Centre, Armidale NSW
13 December

Shannon’s Motorsport Australia Festival
MG Car Club Victoria
Sandown International Raceway, Springvale VIC
11 – 13 December

Motorsport Australia NSW State Championship Round 5
Wakefield Park Motorsport Pty Ltd
Wakefield Park Raceway, Tirrannaville NSW
11 – 13 December

Dad’s Army Re Build Autocross
Central North Coast Sporting Car Club Ltd
Nabiac Motorsport Complex, Nabiac NSW
12 – 13 December

"Out of Lockdown" Khanacross
Pakenham Auto Club Inc
Key Lane, Pakenham VIC
12 – 13 December

Khanacross Summer Series Round 2 & Junior Training Day
500 Car Club of Tasmania Inc
Baskerville Raceway, Old Beach TAS
12 – 13 December

Westmere Khanacross
Ararat Car Club Inc
Westmere Recreation Reserve, Westmere VIC
12 – 13 December

Shannons Targa Rallysprint Round 2
Targa West Pty Ltd
Perth Motorplex, Kwinana Beach WA
17 December

Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race