Champions to lift Girls on Track exposure

Friday 20 May, 2022
BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship gun Ally Howells (pictured right) has been appointed as a Girls on Track Champion.
The Australian FIA Girls on Track program has announced the appointments of its Champions with 18 women across a range of roles in motorsport now Champions.
From officials and administrators to drivers and team managers, the Champions are women who help strengthen the program’s main goal of having strong female leaders in all areas of motorsport, as well as enabling the program to have a wider reach to the motorsport community.
Some of the drivers appointed as Champions include BFGoodrich Motorsport Australia Off Road Championship (AORC) driver Ally Howells and Speedway regular Laura Byrnes, while there are plenty of officials also part of the program with Danielle Meyn, Felicity Wood and Karyn Lun all holding high-profile roles in the sport.  

Felicity Wood (pictured right) at this year's Formula 1 Heineken Australian Grand Prix.  

Other notable Girls on Track Champions include Jam Motorsport Team Manager Courtney Tyler, Radical Australia Cup Category Manager Charise Bristow and Toyota mechanic Natasha Smith. 
Girls on Track ambassador Jessica Dane believed the Champions played a pivotal role in the program. 
"There are countless opportunities in motorsport and so many roles,” Dane said. 
“The Girls on Track Champions play a hugely important part in showing participants what the different pathways in motorsport look like and give them goals to aspire to. 
Their support is invaluable, and we wouldn't be able to run so many incredible events without them." 
Alfa Romeo ORLEN F1 Team CFD Development Engineer Krystina Emmanouilides also serves as an ambassador for the program and echoed Dane’s comments. 
“Having more people involved in the Girls on Track program means more access to those in industry for the program participants - opening the field of career paths participants can learn or be mentored about,” Emmanouilides added. 
“The Girls on Track Champions are building solid foundations for the program to build on. Thank you, Champions.” 

With media a big part of the program, tv personality Kate Peck believed that having more Championship could unearth more talent. 

"The Girls on Track Champions strengthen our main goal and that is to have strong female leadership in all areas of Motorsport," Peck said.

"For every Champion we involve, our community widens, and we are able to access more budding young female talent."

Click here for more information on the FIA Girls on Track Program. 

2022 Girls on Track Champions 

Belinda Riseley 
Loren Hazelwood 
Karina Vasudevan 
Casey Price 
Courtney Tyler 
Felicity Wood 
Ally Howells 
Estelle Clapham 
Briony Ingerson 
Charise Bristow 
Charlie Bullis 
Karyn Lun 
Natasha Smith 
Danielle Meyn 
Laura Byrnes 
Telea Plummer 
Tayla Dicker 
Lauren Cornes 
Motorsport Australia App

Download the Motorsport Australia App

Motorsport Australia: Return to Race